Thursday 22 February 2018

Pharoah Russell - Air to Breathe E.P. launch

Pharoah Russell
Pharoah Russell - vocals, percussion
Christopher Langley - guitar, vocals
Basile Petite - bass, vocals
Kwesi Yvorra – drums
Rachel D'Arcy – vocals
Barbora Bartz - violin

Date - 21st February 2018
Venue - Upstairs at The Ritzy, Brixton, London, UK
New E.P. - Air to Breathe (2018)

Kwesi Yvorra
Pharoah Russell is well known to London music scene lovers and especially to Effra Hall Tavern and Agile Rabbit regulars as a fine and versatile young drummer. Last night at Upstairs at The Ritzy (Brixton) he launched his debut EP Air To Breathe, a four tracker full of creativity and laidback positivity.

Basile Petite

Russell has been part of the London scene for many years, cutting his teeth with Britjazz trio Partikel in the noughties. Past/present collaborations and credits include The Noisettes, Emiliana Torinni, Cirque Du Soleil, Congo Natty, Shabaka Hutchings, Jeremy Warmley, Agaskodo Teliverek, Damo Suzuki, Thidius, Andrew Ashong, Aar Maanta, Mr Jukes, Jack Tyson-Charles, Kokoroko, Ese and the Voodoo People, Errol Linton and more. This EP shows a new side to Russell, a facet that reveals his considerable skills as a multi-instrumentalist and explores a new found talent for singing and song writing. 

Christopher Langley

No comments:

Post a Comment